I returned to one country’s snowy east coast from another this week –I had hoped to blog more about my trip as it happened while I was in Asia, but what do you know, wordpress is apparently one of the websites blocked by the internet in China. I’m sure there are ways to get around it, but I guess I wasn’t a diligent enough blogger to try. At any rate, it was a very busy, relaxing, family and food-filled technology-free break! A lot of it was spent meeting my parents’ old friends from med school and before, which provided an interesting perspective on what my parents were like when they were my age. Expect more posts and lots of pictures about my trip once my camera’s USB cord appears from its mysterious hiding place.

My externship at WilmerHale started the day after I flew back to Boston (talk about a cure for jetlag!). BigLaw is definitely not your average industry. In past internships, the first week to two weeks has always been a lot of thumb twiddling and RSS feed reading while slowly easing into whatever project I’m ultimately working on–not here. I’ve only been at work for 3ish days, and they’ve already got me working on things for 4 different projects (keep in mind that I should be largely useless for much of what the firm does, in that I don’t have a law degree or any sort of formal legal training).  The good thing is that I feel like I’m maxed out on learning every minute, because I’ve never had any exposure to any of this stuff before. The bad thing is that my eyes are dying from reading cases in size 8 font every day, and I’ve been falling asleep right after dinner every night, which doesn’t leave a lot of time for my formerly ambitious LSAT study plan.

60state1

[ 60 state street–I’m on the 29th floor ]

some key lessons so far:

1. even in a business formal environment, do not wear heels or flats during your commute to work. it’s okay to wear rainboots or other warm, practical shoes and then change in your office (I learned this the hard way).

2. if you can’t read long, dense documents quickly and critically, you will soon begin to hate your life.

3. corporate law requires just as much business sense and strategy as pure businesss/management positions do–often even more, because you are primarily there to navigate a complex legal environment strategically in order to help your clients achieve the best business outcomes.

4. despite public perception, all the lawyers i’ve met thus far have been very nice people. Though everyone’s billing, many have gone above and beyond in helping me with questions and just taking time to chat.

5. every idea, good or bad, has probably already been patented. several times.

Another great part about the externship is that my building is right next to faneuil hall and quincy market. No shortage of yummy things to grab for dinner on the way home. Even though I’ve been going to school here for almost 3 years now, I’ve never felt more in Boston than I do now.

60state2

[the view! from the lovelier side of the building ]

